The World has witnessed some of the finest goal scorers in history. From Pele who won three titles – the only player to achieve the feat to Sando Kocsis who scored 11 in a single tournament but failed to lift the trophy. The next edition of the World Cup in 2022 will be hosted by Qatar. Like past editions the World Cup 2022 will not be short of talented front men. Jadon Sancho, Kylian Mbappe, Erling Harlaand, Ansu Fati and Mason Greenwood among other youngsters are expected to light up the competition in the summer of 2022.

We take a look at the top three all time top scorer of the world Cup:

#1 Miroslav Klose

The German introduced himself in the Global showpiece in World Cup 2002. He scored five goals in his maiden appearance. His five goals were unique as the former Bayern Munich striker scored all five with his head including a hat trick in 8-0 demolition of Saudi Arabia. Klose scored two more goals in the competition as Germany finished runners up against Brazil. He added another five in his home country four years later, as he won the top scorer award for the competition. He scored 6 more goals in the next two editions to take his tally to 16 and ultimately as the top scorer in the history of the tournament. Klose also won the competition in Brazil. Germany defeated Argentina in a tense final, thanks to a goal in extra time by Mario Gotze.

#2 Ronaldo

Ronaldo won two titles with Brazil. He won his first world title in 1994. The 17 year old did not feature all through the tournament. But he was the star of the team in 1998. The former Inter Milan striker scored four goals and provided five assists before a final meltdown in the final against host nation France. Ronaldo will win the competition again in 2002. He scored 8 goals as he helped the Selecao to another victory. During the 2006 World Cup, the former Real Madrid striker’s power was already declining as he scored three goals. The Selecao were eliminated in the quarter final against France.

#3 Gerd Mueller

Only three men have reached double figures for goals in a single tournament. Mueller was the last to achieve the feat in 1970. The Bayern Munich legend led his home country to victory on home soil in 1974 as they won the final against Johan Cruyff’s Netherlands.